What is the Event Cut-off Date / Time?
The Cut-off Date / Time for an event is the point at which your guests can no longer register, accept invites or buy tickets. By default each time you create an event, the ‘Cut-off’ Date and Time is automatically set to match the start date / time of the event. This prevents people from registering for an event that has already begun.
When they try to register, or accept an invite after the Cut-off Date / Time, no Packages are available and they see a message informing them that registrations have stopped:
You can control the Cut-off Date / Time and the Cut-off Message from Event Setup by clicking on the ‘Manage Event Cut-Off’ button in the Advanced panel:
Reasons why you may want to change the Cut-off Date / Time and / or Message:
Your event is an online webinar or similar and you do not mind if people register for and access the event while it is taking place. In this case, change the Cut-off Time of your event to match the ending time of your event.
Your event is full and you do not want to allow people to use the Waitlist feature. In this case, change the Cut-off Date / Time to the current date / time.
There has been some change to your event details, location, its date / time etc. and you do not yet know the final details, but you have already distributed registration links or sent out invites. In this case, change the Cut-off Date / Time to the current date / time, and change the Cut-off Message to explain the situation to your potential guests.
You want to use your event’s Register Page to display post-event content (photos from the event, a video, follow-up information etc.) to visitors (see this article on maximizing your Register Pages). In this case, change the Cut-off Message (which will display automatically on the page) to match the content.
Changing your event date
If you ever change the date / time of an active event in Event Setup, Seatrobot will automatically update the Cut-off Date / Time to match the new event date / time. You will see the following dialog:
Deleting an event
If you delete an active event (from the Dashboard), you will automatically be prompted to re-set the Cut-off Message. See this article on deleting events from the Dashboard.